WHAT THE ANTIQUES ROADSHOW TAUGHT ME ABOUT THE RACIAL WEALTH DIVIDE

Brenda Gabriel
6 min readJun 18, 2021

--

Fiona Bruce and the audience of AR. Photo courtesy of Lakeland Arts.

In a diversion from all thing fame and celebrity, in writing this piece, I seek to address the topic of economic inequality between blacks and whites, as a collective, and the emotional and spiritual work required for many of us to heal our relationship with money, wealth and power.

It’s often seen as a taboo to speak about anything that suggests as humans, we do indeed have differences. Even physically or culturally.

It’s been an even bigger no-no to mention that many cultural differences stem from colonialism and slavery.

The first time I became acutely aware of the economic disadvantage the impact of slavery, displacement and lost heritage had on black and brown people was watching the Antiques Roadshow.

I’d see the stunned but elated faces of ‘very British’ owners with heirlooms passed down multiple generations, light up as they were told their 500 year old item was worth tens of thousands of pounds.

I never saw a person of Caribbean or African descent receive such news, despite a rich and vibrant culture that goes back to the beginning of mankind.

It dawned on me that few, if any, black or brown person I have personally encountered, possesses heirlooms passed down 5 generations or more.

My mum didn’t inherit any heirlooms from her family nor did my father, that I am aware of.

My first antique was an early 20th century oak chair given to me by my father-in-law, an antique restoration expert, a few years ago.

I’m a second generation Brit. Both sets of my grandparents were part of the Windrush generation, they left everything that couldn’t fit in a suitcase behind after being ‘invited’ to the UK with promises of great opportunity.

My paternal grandparents did ok for themselves.They bought a house in London, lived a comfortable life and had some estate to leave to five children after their passing.

My maternal grandparents chose Huddersfield to settle. They struggled in the north, where job opportunities for blacks were few and far between. My mum inherited the same affliction.

A few years ago, I tried to trace my family tree back and was stopped short when I couldn’t trace further back than 1955. Hurricane Janet hit Grenada so badly almost all official records were destroyed.

My last name Gabriel, has likely been passed down from a slave master. My looks often referred to as Ghanaian and my dark skin, the only links to my African heritage, I’m unable to trace back, neither with documents, history books or heirlooms.

The Empire Windrush arrives at Tilbury, 22 June 1948. Photograph: Alamy

According to my school history lessons my history starts with Columbus sailing the ocean blue, in 1492.

Next stop slavery.

No stories of brave conquests or the forging of Brave New Worlds.

No contribution to GDP other than staying enslaved long enough to build capital (though not to benefit from it) and the obscene amount we apparently spend when it comes to hair weaves, cars ‘we’ can’t afford and designer clothes not made for ‘us’.

Western, documented history tells me my body is my currency, my children are for sale, I’m a promiscuous man eater and my voluptupous features are vulgar unless found on someone who passes the brown paper bag test.

I’m sub-human, feeble brained, suited to labour intensive work, with an aggressive and lazy disposition.

Nothing of my history passed down except the perpetual myths of ‘blackness’.

That’s the extent of my history as a woman of Caribbean heritage.

What an incredible legacy to be born into.

Whilst the likes of Boris and other descendants of the heros of the free world, possess a keen understanding of how the world ‘works’, they have also inherited self-esteem, self-importance and property and wealth amassed from exploitation.

It’s easy to see where the myth of ‘blackness’ and ‘whiteness’ originates.

It’s easy to see where the narrative that states we’re all the same, all equal falls short.

Then we have to look where no-one wants us to look…

The money.

In 2016 a study of the racial wealth-gap by the Institute for Policy Studies (IPS) and the Corporation For Economic Development (CFED) found that it would take 228 years to close the wealth gap between blacks and whites.

228 years!

Or just over 7 generations.

400 years of slavery, segregation, and discrimination in the work and housing markets lead to the wealth gap we see today, with blacks and other minorities missing out on decades of growth in the housing markets.

“The racial wealth divide is how the past shows up in the present. We have a deep legacy of wealth inequality that undermines the whole idea that we have a meritocracy — that there’s an equal playing field.”

Chuck Collins — The Nation.

Princeton University sociologist Dalton Conley, stated the wealth of a child’s family is the single greatest predictor of that child’s future economic prospects.

Of course, there are exceptions to the rule.

I’m one of them, as are many of you.

However, my ability to rise above my circumstances like many of us, didn’t just happen

In fact I still have some way to go to be in a position to pass down generational wealth despite having climbed several socio-economic rungs to get to where I am today.

It’s cost me approximately 100k over 3 years in coaching and therapy to be able to shed generations of social positioning.

To give myself permission to make money.

To do the inner work that allows me to charge thousands for my services and receive it, just because I can.

How many women, realistically, are in a position to spend tens of thousands on undoing generational trauma?

Many women reading this will be able to relate.

Black women in particular will understand the identity crisis and inner work required to undo the damage that comes with being taught as a child, at school, that the colour of their skin alone was enough to have them deemed as ‘less than’ but enough to be kept in hard working captivity for 400 years.

When your historical roots link back to formidable kings, queens and empire, there’s a certain pride that comes with that knowledge.

It took years of personal education for me to be able to make the same connection between myself and great pharos and Moors despite Elizabeth Taylor’s stellar performance as Cleopatra.

Little by little, I remembered who I was. Who I Am.

I remembered my power.

Generational poverty ends with me.

The wealth gap closes with me.

It’s important to add I have been supported by some phenomenal white women and men in addition to black and brown mentors and service providers in making this a reality, willing to share their knowledge to even the playing field..

There are countless people of all hues who want to see me win and I am eternally grateful for their support and insight which I have in turn been able to pass onto my family and clients.

Brenda Gabriel, the self-styled Fame PR Queen and Creator of the Conscious Celebrity PR Method, is a Publicist and Premium Sales Strategist who helps convention-breaking founders and influencers attain global industry fame through targeted PR and publicity campaigns.

Prior to setting up her business, Brenda spent 11 years in the Civil Service. After five years in project implementation and communications then a stint in a top London PR agency with a client roster including the likes of Meghan Markle, Sir Bob Geldof and Sir Richard Branson, Brenda helped start up business founders raise their profile and increase brand awareness through digital media and publicity.

Brenda has secured her clients national and global features in prominent media such as the BBC, Forbes, Harper’s Bazaar, and the Daily Mail, which has led to expert TV appearances, viral press coverage, TED X invites and reality TV opportunities

Brenda now consults emerging public figures on corporate messaging, positioning, securing broadcast and top-tier press coverage in addition to brand and celeb collaborations.

When not working to elevate insanely talented experts to rockstar celebrity status, Brenda can be found at the gym, travelling or indulging her penchant for fine dining and champagne.

Brenda lives in London, UK, with her partner Brad and their three children.

Brenda is available for PR engagements and private consultations on how to leverage publicity to increase revenue and opportunities.

You can reach Brenda at:

Email — brenda@brendagabriel.co.uk

Facebook — /brendagabriel

Instagram/@FamePRQueen

Website — www.brendagabriel.co.uk

--

--

Brenda Gabriel

Publicity and Sales Strategist for visionaries. Leveraging PR to change the world. Mum, partner, lover of Valentino. www.brendagabriel.co.uk